Good bachi alternatives

Bachi seem a bit too expensive for me, could anyone recommend a good alternative? I’m thinking a giant guitar pick or something lol but I can’t really find one. On the plectrum video he used a mini bachi at one point, is there a place I could buy one? That sounds just about perfect.

hello connor,

where’s your financial limit? i got my first bachi from a japanese ebay-seller for quite a reasonable price …
in tokyo there’s a craftsman producing small shamisen that goes out with a small plectrum in the shape of fuji san. i started playing with that but it is different from plaing with a real bachi and if you change from the small to the large one it’ll become difficult.
another option could be to start with a payable used bachi …

You can play with just about anything, including just your fingers.

But if you’re interested in traditional playing, there isn’t really a substitute for a proper bachi - short of making one yourself.

If you’re interested, I have a spare bachi I’d be happy to send to you for the cost of shipping.

That would be cool, what kind of bachi is it? Good condition? Also, how much would shipping be? If it’s above like 15 or 20 bucks I could probably just get a cheap bachi myself lol.

I paid $20 for mine.

Guitar picks are cheap. Many people play shamisen with a pick, even traditionally.

That would be cool, what kind of bachi is it? Good condition? Also, how much would shipping be? If it’s above like 15 or 20 bucks I could probably just get a cheap bachi myself lol.

Since I’m Japan based, the shipping would be at leas 20 bucks, my dude. If you can source another one for cheaper, you’re probably better off :p.

The bachi i’d send you are generally damaged on one side and are nagauta (that delightful all-rounder size) and made from wood or plastic.

I have a beefy jiuta laying around somewhere as well.

Check your DM