1st Shamisen build plans and advice seeking.

Hi,

This May Seem presumptuous, but I would like to build a Modernized Shamisen as I can more easily afford the lumber.

I’m a woodworking student, and may possibly be carving a cnc v Guitar while I hand carve a Shamisen. I had a Spare board of Caribbean Rosewood lying Around as well as wenge.

As Far as Modernized, I’m trying to figure out a way to put a Guitar microphone Pickup Inside with easy access to a switch engaged bled pot and one other acoustic pickup inside. I would Rather not bother with a preamp as they are all geared for guitar, unless I bought one from Shamisen-Katoh. I think I would use an end pin preamp, also known as a power jack, unless anyone has experience with guitar preamps on Shamisen. I would order, but its easier for me to build right now.

Anyway I plan on posting pictures as I go along and I have my material marked for harvesting, to saw it into smaller pieces before I begin my rough cuts and carves.

Any advice would be appreciated. Please forgive my long list of plans. I will consider any advice and be very thankful and appreciative for it.

I started hollowing my Tenjin, May post in the coming week.

I may add a form of reinforcing the neck, I’m saving up to order “Shamisen of Japan” by Kyle Abbot.
I’m also wondering where he got the snake wood, its expensive everywhere I look. I can Find Caribbean rosewood and cocobolo cheaper, but the snake skin looks so cool, but hearing from him in the live stream(I’m the guy practicing shamisen scales on a down tuned Guitar) I may have to change the joinery with a few tenons if I Ever make Ito-maki out of it, nut not right now.

I have Macassar Ebony Pen blanks I plan on using for Ito maki, Maybe if I can get small pieces of pale moon Ebony so it contrast the Macassar.

I can get black ebony for the fingerboard.

I’m changing the neck construction, from Neck-thru-body, to Set-Neck on Heel-thru-body. Some Pale Moon would look nice around the heel.